RSS

The Beaconsfield miners

01 May

Everyone in Australia seems to be drawn to this story. “Two goldminers who have been found alive in a Beaconsfield mine may have to wait 48 hours before they emerge from a kilometre underground. Todd Russell, 34 and Brant Webb, 37, have been trapped a kilometre underground for five days at Beaconsfield Gold Mine, near Launceston.” Not least Mister Rabbit.

I’m usually pretty cynical as you know; and one of these guys looks as if he could crush you between his palm and his forehead — but I’m still happy to read that they’ve found those two miners alive.


Shame about his previous entry though; it just makes me sad when he does that, as I don’t see what he gains from it. The gratuitous racial language simply detracts from what could be a worthwhile critique. There have been a couple of apposite comments made there already, but not by me. I’m leaving it alone, after last year’s debacle when anger got the better of me.



Site Meter

 
Comments Off on The Beaconsfield miners

Posted by on May 1, 2006 in Aussie interest, Current affairs, Events, News and Current Affairs, Observations

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
