RSS

Famous ex-Miners

04 May

I found this in the Letters to the Editor in The OBU Bulletin [November 1998]:

Dear Editor,

How on earth did Nye Perram (86) become a QUIET ACHIEVER!!! NYE!!! I can’t believe it. Is this some new definition of quiet that I didn’t know about??? Tsk!

Evan Ruth (86)

I remember the Class of 1986 vividly: they were a great bunch, and my first HSC year at The Mine. Many a story I could tell…

I have seen both gentlemen in much more recent times: this century, anyway. Evan has been doing good things with UNHCR: in 2003 he was head of the UNHCR’s refugee eligibility unit in Kuala Lumpur. Nye, I hear on this morning’s news, is one of the Unions NSW legal team in the States’ High Court challenge to John Howard’s IR Laws. This case has major constitutional implications.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Click the logo.



Site Meter

 

Tags:

One response to “Famous ex-Miners

  1. The Poet by email

    May 4, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    Perram was a good ‘un, as they say. He went straight to the bar, boots and all. He might also have done associate’s work for a HC judge, though I wouldn’t swear to that. He will emerge as one of the bar’s top operators, sooner rather than later. In time he could be anything.

     
 
