RSS

Richard Carleton my contemporary

08 May

Yes, we are/were the same age, and I did meet him once — at The Mine where he was MC-ing a trivia night, which the table I was on won. Before I say anything else, Richard Carleton was a very bright man and an aggressive and very well-informed journalist and interviewer, at his best. And yes, I feel my own mortality with his passing.

That said, I have never been a fan of the breathless 60 Minutes style. In surfing for this entry I came upon a classic bit of Paul Keating: “You [Richard Carleton] had an important place in Australian society on the ABC and you gave it up to be a pop star…with a big cheque…and now you’re on to this sort of stuff. That shows what a 24 carat pissant you are, Richard, that’s for sure.” But no-one has ever accused Keating in full flight of being fair either. ( Watchdog of the Wankers blogged that comment just last month; must add her to my blogroll.)



Site Meter

 

Tags:

One response to “Richard Carleton my contemporary

  1. ms cynic

    May 9, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    Oh, and how very awful I do feel about it now.

    Never was a fan of Richard Carleton but, as a budding journalist, I have to have a certain level of respect for anyone who’s “made it” in the industry. (Yes, even Andrew Bolt. This is from a professional perspective, of course, and has nothing to do with concurring with his views).

    I read somewhere that Carleton died after asking the question – “After the previous (large rockfall), why did you continue to send miners down when you knew it was unsafe?” – the fact that Carleton was asking this question, when other journos were asking trite and mundane bullshit about what they were eating, or what they were listening to on their iPods, gave old RC a few more kudos in my book.

     
 
