RSS

Two in the thriller/forensic genre

03 Jul

I have been entertained by two more of my picks from Surry Hills Library’s generous crime shelf: Past Imperfect by John Matthews (1999) is English, and Silent Witness by Richard North Patterson (1996) is of course American.

Past Imperfect is strongest in its delineation of French law and culture; at that level it is very interesting. Matthews also managed to sell me a plot that hangs on past life therapy and reincarnation without making me cringe.

Silent Witness isn’t the fastest-moving book in its genre, but is well researched and well written. I always appreciate the humanity of Patterson’s politics too, even if the folkways of American high school sports still leave me cold.


Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Two in the thriller/forensic genre

Posted by on July 3, 2006 in Reading, Surry Hills

 

Comments are closed.

 
