RSS

A birthday in South Sydney

09 Jul

Church was rather amazing this morning. For starters, there was one of those times where real life enters the picture: someone dealing with the suicide just this week of her brother, and coming to the church for help. Makes you wonder where people might go otherwise?

Dorothy McRae-McMahon preached this morning, as honest and loving and humble as ever. On the Uniting Church and sexuality the general feeling was to be glad to be in a church that, when it comes down to it, does embrace difference.

Dorothy gave me a poem for my birthday.

I will not die an unlived life,
I will not go in fear
Of falling or catching fire.
I choose to inhabit my days,
To allow my living to open to me,
To make me less afraid,
More accessible,
To loosen my heart
Until it becomes a wing,
A torch, a promise.
I choose to risk my significance:
To live.
So that which came to me as seed,
Goes to the next as blossom,
And that which came to me as blossom,
Goes on as fruit.

Those words from Iona Community poet Davna Markova are quoted at the end of The Myths of Christianity – 3 by Bishop Richard Holloway, whose work I so like.

Now for lunch with Lord Malcolm and Sirdan.


Site Meter

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 9, 2006 in Events, Faith and philosophy, Personal, Religion

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “A birthday in South Sydney

  1. Lisa

    July 9, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    Smiles and best wishes for your birthday!
    🙂

     
 
