RSS

My Aboriginal nephew is in Sydney

19 Jul

BungareeI had a mobile call from him last night and am hoping I may catch up with him tomorrow, though he is very busy. He’s in Sydney for the Inaugural First Nations Economic Opportunities Conference, which is quite a big thing, as you will see on that site.

Normally he lives in Queensland. He runs an eco-tourism business on Magnetic Island. And yes, he really is “an Aboriginal Botanist and a direct descendant of King Bungaree, (King of Sydney).”

I have told that story before. It is through his mother that descent comes; his father (my brother) and I also have Aboriginal descent, but nothing to do with Bungaree. See My Ancestry. Of course the Aborigines didn’t have kings; the title was a European imposition, though he apparently enjoyed it in a way. It is a sad tale, really. That’s him on the right. My convict ancestor Jacob would almost certainly have seen him in the later 1820s; he lived a lot longer than poor Bungaree, who died in 1830.

Nice to know some of my ancestors were here 30,000 years ago. Makes literal biblical interpretation a tad nonsensical though, doesn’t it? That’s quite a few generations before Abraham, let alone that quaint old idea about the provenance of Adam: 4004 BC or whatever it was…



Site Meter

 
Comments Off on My Aboriginal nephew is in Sydney

Posted by on July 19, 2006 in Aussie interest, Events, Indigenous Australians, Personal

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
