RSS

Last time I mentioned Tim Blair…

27 Jul

…my traffic went through the roof! He is, despite appearances, a sensitive soul who seems to read avidly what people say about him, and where he reads his fans follow. Or so I found back in March.

Let me therefore commend this week’s column to you: New word order. It is a very useful guide to Tim’s perennnial Aunt Sallies and hobbyhorses, with an irony that is delightfully two-edged. For example:

Intellectual, n. Someone who knows less than you, but knows bigger words than you…

Stupid, adj. Intelligent, i.e. “George W. Bush is so stupid he won consecutive terms as the governor of Texas followed by two terms as president of the United States. What an idiot!”…

Lebanese Australian, n. Person of Lebanese background who lives in Lebanon and works in Lebanon but whose Australian citizenship requires that they be evacuated at Australian expense during times of trouble. In Lebanon…

Global warming, n. Scientifically observed phenomenon whereby scientists the world over receive warm, toasty funding to talk about the weather.

No problem seeing where Tim stands, eh! On the last point it must be said Tim’s views on global warming are neither better nor worse than mine, as neither of us has any qualification that I am aware of to pontificate on the subject. I do however take Lord May of Oxford, former president of the UK’s academy of science, rather more seriously than I do Tim or PR merchants for oil and fossil fuel interests. Tim’s other witticisms speak loud and clear really: the message you get will depend on where you stand.



Site Meter

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2006 in Aussie interest, blogging, Current affairs, Reading

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Last time I mentioned Tim Blair…

  1. AV

    July 27, 2006 at 6:26 pm

    Last time I mentioned Tim Blair my traffic went through the roof!

    Bruce has a great post which might account for this.

     
  2. ninglun

    July 27, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Thanks, and you’re right…

     
  3. Benjamin Solah

    July 28, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Not to be the one to always disagree, but the third ‘definition’ seems to be eerily similar to the racist crap on Piers Ackerman’s column and blog. I tried to leave a comment there, but of course it didn’t appear. I’m not too sure, but I don’t think Piers likes being called a racist liar 😉

     
  4. ninglun

    July 28, 2006 at 8:01 am

    Well spotted, Benjamin! Yes, Piers and Tim are peas in a pod. See my brief note on Friday 28 July on double standards, which I am sure you will agree with up to a point, though you and I probably differ too on Israel and Hezbollah.

     
 
