RSS

Colin Thiele dies

05 Sep

stormboy1Australian writer Colin Thiele died yesterday, a fact somewhat overshadowed by the sad accidental death of Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin. Thiele’s life and work spanned an active life, going back to service with the RAAF during World War II through almost 80 books, mostly set in rural Australia. Storm Boy is probably his best-known work.

Later

See the tribute on the 7.30 Report.


Site Meter

 
 

One response to “Colin Thiele dies

  1. nowvoyager

    September 5, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Thank you so much for posting this, I didn’t know. Whilst sorry for Irwin’s family, I’m not that interested… However I didn’t know about Thiele and I am very sad about reading this now. His books were a big part of my childhood – Sun on the Stubble, February Dragon and of course, Storm Boy – are all still with me.
    I saw the Storm Boy in the old Yallourn Cinema, before the town was closed down and dug up for coal. It had a huge impact on me.
    Big thanks for a wonderful life.

     
 
