RSS

Your new ABC lurches to the Right…

10 Sep

At the moment Radio National is broadcasting Regaining confidence in western culture, with Mark Steyn and Owen Harries, with a fulsome introduction by Janet Albrechtsen, and a full transcript already available at the Centre for “Independent” (Howardite) Studies. Owen Harries is not half bad actually, but that is to be expected. Mark Steyn is himself. He has a good line of sneer. And Janet is in full celebratory ABC Board Member mode. Watch for more of the same as the culture war grinds on?

It was interesting to read Miranda Devine this morning rejecting the central teaching of Jesus Christ wasn’t it? Paradoxical, but by no means without precedent, for such an upfront conservative Catholic. Like the Islamists, she seems to believe God needs our bombs, indeed loves them… There are of course other views within Christianity, Sojourners for example.


Site Meter

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Your new ABC lurches to the Right…

  1. The Artist

    September 10, 2006 at 11:47 am

    Enjoyed the Sojourners site. Good to see real issues being approached with integrity, best wishes, The Artist

     
  2. Jim Belshaw

    September 10, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    Neil, I listened to the first part of the ABC stuff you referred to then wished I hadn’t because it was giving me the same headache I got on that blogging excursion I mentioned.

    I think that the debate – if one can use this word – is in fact equally wrong headed and dangerous on both sides. I also think that a dose of good old fashioned philosophical rigour is required to tear down, or at least deconstruct, the arguments involved.

     
  3. ninglun

    September 10, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    I agree with your last paragraph, and my problem with Steyn is that I regard him as a propagandist who constantly oversimplifies complex issues. I would not say the same about Owen Harries, who really does think and, dare I say, represents an older, more intelligent conservatism.

     
 
