RSS

Random notes

23 Sep

My colleague of thirty-four year ago, David Humphries, and I have made contact. I am having dinner with him soon. He tells me the internet is renewing all sorts of contacts. I mentioned my own a few years ago with Jay Caselberg (James A. Hartley), a novelist now living in Germany it seems. Unfortunately a “senior moment” blocked the name as I was talking to David, but (obviously) I recall it now. Then more recently there had been Scott Poynting and a class-mate of his, Ralph T, whose brother Ian T was a classmate of Simon H, who I have maintained contact with all these years. Wednesday night could prove interesting.

Lord Malcolm is still in the hospice, but the Swans winning through to the Grand Final has obviously brought him back to life. He tells me he comes home on Monday.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2006 in Aussie interest, Observations, Personal

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Random notes

  1. s.h.

    September 23, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    Neil,
    more free tickets. Sunday 24, tomorrow, Opera House concert hall, 3.00 pm performance of ” a likeness of wind” Japanese flute, didg, etc.
    It will clash with your service and it will be a hot day… but I will be there from 2.30. More than a couple of spares available, so, if Malcolm was up to it, or anyone else, feel free.

    Simon.

     
  2. s.h.

    September 24, 2006 at 7:39 am

    re tickets,
    just read the latest on Malcolm…
    Neil, can you put your phone number in the return email, or leave it on my message service. Paperwork here very chaotic.
    I will be out this morning, ’till around midday.

    Regards,
    Simon.

     
  3. James

    September 27, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    And Simon too, fantastic. The internet is a strange and wonderful place.

     
  4. Owner

    September 27, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    You got onto this quickly, James! I am just back from an absolutely wonderful evening with David Humphries, but as it is almost midnight I am too tired to blog it. Later 🙂

     
  5. James

    September 28, 2006 at 8:56 am

    Ah, remember David well. Geodesic domes and all that. And was it…The Yellow House? Hmmm…

    Well, he seems to have lost a proportion of the hair that was. Later indeed.

     
 
