RSS

Meanwhile in a country far away…

11 Oct

Ahmad of MyScribbles is a young Afghan refugee in Pakistan. In his latest post he writes:

Just a notice to tell you that in the last few weeks I have been busy preparing for the SAT–the entrance examination for American universities. It’s now time to take it. The test is very, very important for my future as its result will determine whether or not I will be able to get into a U.S. college, and, subsequently, study journalism.

The test center is in Islamabad, the capital of Pakistan. It is going to take me a gruelling, 26-hour bus ride to get there. Things are not easy, but I will do my best.

I know he likes Cricket and is not too fond of the Taliban. He also writes well, so I find it hard to think he won’t get his SAT, even though it is, alas, a rather silly test.

So good luck, Ahmad.


Site Meter

 

One response to “Meanwhile in a country far away…

  1. MyScribbles: Write-ups of an Afghan

    October 17, 2006 at 5:18 am

    Thank you, Ninglun, for the post. Your words give me courage and stimulate me to work harder. Sometimes our vision gets blurred and we lose sight of our pesonal characteristics that set us apart; everytime we need an adjustment to put everything back into perspective.

    The test passed well and I hope I will get a good result.

     
 
