RSS

I’ve been Timmed.

02 Nov

Check out the comments on Does TB still do global warming jokes? Amazing. The answer seems to be “Yes”.

Later

Here is the effect today (Sydney time):

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Sure works, doesn’t it? And I made into WordPress’s Top 100 Blogs @ #59! Never happened before…

But the top five in the past seven days reveals a nice contest:

1. David Suzuki at the National Press Club 278
2. Does T** Bl*** still do gl*b*l w*rming j*k*s 239
3. Looking back on October 80
4. Nice new lit blog link, thanks to Gay Erasmus 66
5. Suzuki and Jones trounce Mufti … 24

And even later

I am, it appears, a Stalinist. As a good Stalinist I am, as you will have noticed, rather interested in religion. That of course is what you expect of a Stalinist. As a Stalinist, I think climate change is a serious matter, as Stalinists do, of course. Stalin was famous for it. Stalin did have a position on fossil fuels, though, as in use them as much as possible and bugger the consequences… But that was a long time ago, and he was not alone in that. Hey, hang on, that might appear I am apologising for a figure I revile perhaps more than any other in 20th century history, aside from AH, Pol Pot, and a few others, but you may make your own list. On the comments now I have added links to a few other rather surprising (and no doubt surprised) Stalinists whose views on global warming I would welcome, even if I may not agree with all their nasty Stalinist views.

That’s why I go to church: I get to meet so many Stalinists there. Mind you, some do have doubts about the Uniting Church…

Site Meter

 

Tags:

7 responses to “I’ve been Timmed.

  1. Jim Belshaw

    November 2, 2006 at 10:09 am

    Very interesting, Neil. I had actually not heard of Tim Blair, although a google search shows that he is quite famous. His blog also ranks 1574 on technorati.

    I guess if you set yourself up against someone like Tim you are going to attract interest. Still, it wouldn’t take much such interest to push your own blog up into the top 100,000!

    I haven’t commented directly on Stern because I haven’t read it, but have been listening to the debate with interest. I was fascinated to discover that eldest who had been in favour of Oz signing Kyoto changed her mind during the last week as a consequence of the debate.

    REPLY: That is interesting, Jim. I grant the imperfection of Kyoto, and that the government has in fact been taking global warming much more seriously lately. As for TB, you obviously don’t read The Bulletin, and yes he is indeed famous.

     
  2. The Artist

    November 2, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    People in general are no longer making jokes about `Global Warming’. Great to see the public support for change, with best wishes, The Artist

     
  3. AV

    November 2, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    Well, that was fun while it lasted, Ninglun. It’s amazing the effect that two words, “Tim” and “Blair,” can have on one’s site traffic! Maybe I ought to give it a shot. 😉

     
  4. Kevin

    November 2, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    But you shouldn’t close the comments just because you don’t like what you hear. Unless you truly believe that AV is the guy who made up the global warming theory. I don’t, and I doubt you do either. He’s just promoting it. It doesn’t mean he made it up. Only that he believes it.

    BTW, the Stern paper is already being debunked. So it’s still funny. Just a FYI.

     
  5. ninglun

    November 3, 2006 at 12:15 am

    I closed the comments because Amos had had his turn on the rostrum for long enough and anything more was unlikely to be terribly enlightening, just more of the same. You will notice the only editing on those comments was to bleep out an f-word.

    Yes, we know what you think, you’ve told us, and I have given you a go, and I have heard it all before, and you will never be convinced, so go and read some real scientists, or send emails to David Suzuki, or even read The Economist, hardly a radical greenie publication. It’s not I don’t like what you say; I can get that on some talkback radio stations here in Sydney any night in the week. Or I can listen to the Science Show on Radio National, where they tend to have actual scientists.

    You are quite free to believe what you like, and so am I. And as for that debunking: what else would you expect Bjorn Lomborg to write? It’s a bit like getting an Ulster Protestant review of the latest Papal Decree, that is.

    No, I haven’t read Stern either, and maybe you haven’t, so maybe Jim Belshaw is the wisest one of all of us…

     
  6. ninglun

    November 3, 2006 at 12:27 am

    But I quite like your latest joke, Kevin.

     
  7. Kevin

    November 3, 2006 at 9:06 am

    TY, I wish I could take credit for it 🙂

     
 
