RSS

Peter Carey, My Life as a Fake (2003)

08 Nov

Definitely very high up on my best reads of 2006! The starting point is the splendid hoax perpetrated against Max Harris in 1944, beautifully documented in Jacket Magazine. There’s more to Carey’s novel than that, much more. One clue is in the epigraph taken from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I also see a homage to and critique of Joseph Conrad, whose work is alluded to several times. There are swipes at F R Leavis and his school of English criticism: the narrator, Sarah Wode-Douglass, reads Paradise Lost “despite Mr Leavis”, for example. I found the novel to be a multi-layered and delightful work of imagination. Do read it.

See also Blair Mahoney’s review.

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Peter Carey, My Life as a Fake (2003)

Posted by on November 8, 2006 in Aussie interest, OzLit, Reading

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
