RSS

Queer Penguin on World AIDS Day

06 Dec

I have to admit, though I am usually a regular Queer Penguin reader, that visiting the hospice and other matters having perhaps distracted me, I only noted Hypocrisy and Condemnation are Also Diseases via Gay Erasmus. Sam’s post really is very honest, confronting, and powerful. Brace yourself if you are homophobic, but read it nonetheless. You may get a taste of reality. He is also quite rightly trenchant on stupid gay men who can only think with their genitalia. Of course, that failing, and the often combined stupidity (or is it a sad incapacity for genuine human feeling?) of so-called recreational drugs, especially the mind-mincers in the speed family, infect (in more ways than one) party people and airheads of every sexual identification, more’s the pity.

Site Meter

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Queer Penguin on World AIDS Day

  1. Kevin

    December 7, 2006 at 6:26 am

    Here’s another question for you! Does homophobia mean ‘fear of homosexuals’ or ‘fear of homosexuality’ anymore? Or does it just mean ‘people who don’t look upon the homosexual lifestyle with respect’?

    If it’s the latter, I fear I am a homophobe. I found that article painful to read. It’s great that he’s not for sex with wild abandon, but who does he blame for this phenomenon?

    How and where is a man supposed to find the self-respect that stops him from life-endangering sexual practices when his family has rejected him, his peers assaulted him and his society insists any relationship he seeks will ultimately be inferior, even worthless?

    Ouch! The problem doesn’t lie within, obviously. The gay man is the victim, not anyone else. He’s the one suffering – the ONLY one suffering. How self-centered is that!? It is amazing that he suggests that finding self-respect requires anything other than the self. He’s blaming his own self image on others!

    Look within, gay brethren.

     
  2. ninglun

    December 7, 2006 at 9:45 am

    Since one of my closest friends is dying at this very moment, and he also happens to be someone who served his country well and diligently in the defence forces, I find it hard to be objective about your comment.

    Homophobia is a problem for the homophobe, and then for society as a whole because it inevitably leads to injustice. I suggest you click on the logo top right hand corner and read the material there.

     
  3. Kevin

    December 7, 2006 at 10:59 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. It must be very hard for you.

    I clicked the link. Still haven’t decided whether I’m homophobic or not, but it’s not that important right now. I would like to apologize that I hadn’t read your site enough to realize that you are gay. It doesn’t matter to me (in fact, I salute you for not making a big deal out of it), but it will change the tone of my future statements from ‘it seems to me that…’ to ‘don’t you agree that…’

    I won’t take up any more of your time. Grief is devastating, and you don’t need me around adding annoyance to it. I hope your friend is happy with the choices he made in life. I hope you are happy to have known him.

     
  4. ninglun

    December 7, 2006 at 11:07 am

    Thanks, Kevin. See Lord Malcolm about my friend. Even if we disagree about almost everything 😉 you are obviously a very decent person.

     
  5. Kevin

    December 7, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    I read about your friend. I’ve watched a close friend slowly pass from hep-c, and sympathise with you in a way that I’m unable to express. I’d be honored if you would remove my initial comment. If I knew about your situation, I would not have made that comment at this time. It’s clearly inappropriate now.

    I hope your friend gets to see Keating. Can you tell us more about what he is like? Men should be remembered, and if he gets to read about himself before he is gone, well that’s even better.

    No, that comment is OK. It expresses a viewpoint which many share.

     
 
