RSS

Rather good DVD

19 Dec

Not that I have seen all the extras yet, but I did enjoy the DVD of Phillip Noyce’s (an Australian) 2002 adaptation of The Quiet American last night. According to Wikipedia some reviewers thought this version of Grahame Greene’s novel suffered from “overly restrained performances and a heavy-handed moralism that was absent in the original Greene novel.” I didn’t think so, though it is restrained. As for the moralism, I suspect that really owes more to Greene than anyone else. All that mid-20th-century Catholic angst really is dated now.

What struck me about the movie was its function as a parable for our for post-9/11 world, a reminder that terrorism is not new, and that US policy has long been heavy-handed.

Speaking of US policy: who would have thought back in those heady days of Cheney and Rumsfeld and “shock and awe” that we would be reading Powell Says US Losing in Iraq three years down the track? Yet the issue of to withdraw or not to withdraw is fraught indeed. More and more it seems the strategy has been the problem, not just the tactics. So last night’s movie was full of irony.

Site Meter

 

One response to “Rather good DVD

  1. Thomas

    December 19, 2006 at 10:54 am

    This is becoming rather strange.

    I was partway through writing an extensive blogpost on the differences between Donnie Darko and the Director’s Cut of when you posted about it.

    Now, and for the past few days, I’ve been trying to employ what I apparently learned during my functional grammar course at uni and comparing a scene in the film and book versions of The Quiet American when I read your post this morning!

     
 
