RSS

Something to read after Christmas Dinner

25 Dec

How Ahmad Shuja survived NATO in Afghanistan

Surry Hills is very quiet compared with this. Go to An Adventure With Death: How I Survived NATO Firing.

…Moments later, I begin to think: Escaping Al-Qaeda, Taliban and other threats lurking around, we come under threat by the very force which claims to be “protecting” us. Although I acknowledge there’s an idiocy factor involved from our driver, I can’t help but wonder how many people have lost their lives in such incidents that have been labeled “encounters with terrorists.”

From my observations it appears as if such incidents are quite common. In the three trips that I have made to Afghanistan in the last two years, I have had two encounters of this nature with international troops, the first one being a lot less dramatic…

Click the picture below for a Christmas poem.

The_Burning_Babe

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Something to read after Christmas Dinner

Posted by on December 25, 2006 in Cultural and other, Current affairs, Events, Faith and philosophy, News and Current Affairs, Observations, poets and poetry, Religion, Surry Hills

 

Comments are closed.

 
