RSS

Two crime fiction novels

04 Jan

William Heffernan “had a fourteen-year career in journalism, working as a general assignment reporter, then as bureau chief at New York Police Headquarters, and finally as an award-winning investigative reporter and editor.” He shares his name with a somewhat notorious NSW senator, who has been known to do a bit of crime fiction himself but of a rather different kind. Ask Justice Michael Kirby about that. The NY Heffernan in A Time Gone By (2003) sets his story in 1945 and 1975, the 1945 part being perhaps better. It’s a good read. See more on Fantastic Fiction.

Karin Fossum, Wikipedia informs me, “is a Norwegian author of crime fiction, often known there as the ‘Norwegian queen of crime’. She lives in Oslo. Fossum was initially a poet, with her first collection published in 1974 when she was just 20. It won the Tarjei Vesaas’ Debutant Prize. She is the author of the internationally successful Inspector Conrad Sejer series of crime novels, which have been translated into over 16 languages.” Her When the Devil Holds the Candle (1998, English 2004) is certainly worth reading. It is so hard to improve on this review in Dibs Blog that I will simply refer you to it: “The day a full colostomy bag figures prominently in the plot of a mystery novel is the day when you realize that mysteries have reached a whole new kind of high-water mark…” Don’t be put off by that. Dibs gives it A-, I might even give it A. Quite a twist in the ending too. In fact, this is my first “Best Read of 2007”.

Site Meter

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2007 in Cultural and other, Reading

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Two crime fiction novels

  1. Kevin

    January 7, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Yeah, I hate islamofasism. Most of us in America do. It’s a hatred born of fear, as most hatreds are. The impending question is, “Is this hatred reasonable?”

    Many say “no.” I say, “hell yes.” It’s why when someone supports Hezbollah/Hamas/PLO (Fatah), I want in my gut to have our government kill them. It’s why when someone shouts ‘death to America’, I’m ok with causing THEIR death to save my country. I go out on a limb and believe them. I like peace. They don’t seem to share my opinion. So I’m ok with their exodus from the world.

    Leave us and our allies alone (Aussies included)! You won’t hear a peep from us if you do that one small thing. Unfortunately our allies are vast, but laissez faire is all we are asking. Don’t bug us, we won’t bug you. Sadly, that means we will continue to ignore many country’s slights against women (oh yeah, I’m talking about Islamic countries), but in the interest of what the left calls ‘peace’, we’ll do it.

    But if you screw with our people… well, we’ve seen what happens. We beat the crap out of our enemies while the media whines about one thing or another. It’s their job to whine, but or resolve is sound. Please leave us alone so we don’t have to kill you, or end humanity in your area. You think I’m kidding, don’t you. The very day that Iran announces they have nuclear weapons, your disbelief will evaporate. It’s so sad, but so true.

    I have to say that I’m extremely pissed off that the left is ok with leaving misogynistic people in power in so many countries. This is exactly the kind of crap that they b*tch about in the free world. Why the hell don’t they b*tch about it in the other half of the world?

    My magic 8-ball says that the West is in trouble in late 2007-2008. Anyone want to make a bet?

    I say this believing that you don’t hate women per se, and I’m fairly confident that this is true. As I said, I don’t get homosexuals.

     
  2. ninglun

    January 7, 2007 at 8:01 am

    This really is getting to a point, Kevin, where the relevance of the comments to the post has become very questionable, as are your interpretations of world affairs, I’m afraid, but I am not going to bite. I may address some of these things at another time, but not all at once as that would be quite impossible.

    If you want something to worry about, though, consider that Pakistan already has nuclear weapons, lots of jihadis, and a government that depends really on the guile of one person, Musharaff, who won’t be there forever.

    It would seem too that crap-beating is not something the Americans have been making a great success of in Iraq so far. When the enemy is an ideology, crap-beating in fact may serve to strengthen it… Iran is stronger and its current government more extreme almost as a direct result of the US invasion of Iraq. Only when someone really comes up with a workable solution to the Palestine/Israel mess will there be much likelihood of rolling back the appeal of groups like Hamas.

    But leave that to another day. Thanks. There are plenty of things for you to chew on in what I have said, but I am not buying into further argument on the subject on this thread, not from anyone. Perhaps, as I said, in a more relevant space.

    Comments on this thread not relating to crime fiction from here on may be edited or deleted. For the other issues that have begun to appear here, search this blog under war on terror.

     
  3. Kevin

    January 7, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I’m very afraid of Pakistan for the exact reason you state.

    On my comments trying to goad Ninglun into a discussion about islamofascism, Ninglun said: “I’m afraid, but I am not going to bite. ”

    Grr… I will draw you out my friend. I won’t go into how to deliver a true crap-beating of idealism such as was accomplished in Japan and Germany. It’s ugly and requires so much death that it’s almost unimaginable today. I’m kind of against it anyway, but I think in the end we will have no choice because it will be brought to us, not the other way around.

    I’ll wait for your next post on the subject to mention this kind of stuff, as is your wish. But I’m watching! 🙂

     
  4. Kevin

    January 7, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    I don’t know how to say this. Here’s a try. I finished an old book today, and it was kind of interesting, but that’s all I can say about it. I’m at a loss to understand the message the author was trying to get across. The book is The Human Factor, by Graham Greene. It’s kind of a crime novel, in the sense that a crime is committed, and some are trying to uncover the truth.

    Some people say that there is nothing left that can be original in this world. It’s all been done (or in this case, written). I got the feeling during my reading this book that this is indeed true. I don’t recommend this book, and CERTAINLY don’t think you should buy it. But I’m dying to know what important statement the author was trying to divulge, yet I missed. It reads like The Great Gatsby, or Silas Marner, or even Moby Dick, in the sense that it’s not fun to read, but you are sure to learn something at the end.

    If anyone runs out of books to read, please go to the library and borrow The Human Factor by Graham Greene, and ‘splain what I missed.

    Thanks in advance.

     
 
