RSS

A moment’s navel-gazing

05 Jan

You know my habit of monitoring things… It is interesting to note the growth of the new(ish) English and ESL blog though. It seems Google finds the entries there more easily than it did when much of that stuff was on Tripod. The past 24 hours has seen a record set, and it would not surprise me if one day it passed this blog, though it hasn’t done so yet. Certainly Sitemeter’s recent one hundred reflects an internationalisation brought on by bringing English and ESL under the same counter as this site; on Tripod I have a separate counter which is, of course, slowing down now, though there I see quite a few outclicks as people see the redirections to WordPress.

Here is what I mean by internationalisation in the past 100 visits.

jan07.gif

The top five posts since the English and ESL blog started are, according to WordPress:

1. What tense should I use when I write about literature? 30
2. How should I write up a Science experiment? 25
3. Why do I keep having trouble with subject-verb agreement? 24
4. I have a problem with tense when I use “if”… 20
5. How can I improve my essay grades…? 19

I have been big in Turkey, as you may see; the number of visits from Turkey is much greater than the six found in the last one hundred. That latest 100 is around 60% of the past 24 hours visits to both blogs, with a few to my other related sites such as Blogspot or Angelfire.

Blogroll change

The blogger formerly known as Gay Erasmus is now Adrian Phoon on WordPress.

Interesting trivia

If you are reading this, there is a good chance you are queer, according to Planet Out.

More than one in three LGBT Web users, 36 percent, report visiting their favorite personal blogs daily, compared with 19 percent of straight people, according to a national survey by Harris Interactive.

LGBT online users also visit networking Web sites like Myspace and Friendster more than their straight counterparts, according to the Harris survey.

Twenty-seven percent of LGBT adults in the country who are online said they visit the video-sharing site YouTube.com, compared with 22 percent of heterosexuals. Twenty percent were more likely to visit Craigslist.org, compared with 13 percent of heterosexuals…

But then, maybe not… 27% compared with 22% is not really much to get excited about, not given margin for error in any survey. 36% compared with 19% is, however. One could speculate endlessly about what it means.

Update 6 January 2007

In converting the two Blogspot blogs to the new system I had, until just now, detached them from Site Meter! That is now fixed. I had been wondering why no-one was reading them any more. 😉

Site Meter

 

3 responses to “A moment’s navel-gazing

  1. Jim Belshaw

    January 5, 2007 at 11:08 am

    I hate to say this, Neil, but in sexual terms I am very straight. I think that women are wonderful, men less so!

    Thank you for the redirect to Adrian’s new blog.

     
  2. ninglun

    January 5, 2007 at 11:11 am

    I think I had noticed that, Jim 😉 . Just shows how much notice we should take of statistics sometimes…

     
  3. Jim Belshaw

    January 5, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Spot on, Neil!

     
 
