RSS

The Poet and Gallipoli

07 Jan

The Poet has been sending me many emails about the current state of the world and the search for a (face)-saving strategy over there in Washington after the undeniable stuff-up George and company committed to around 2003, and I have been reading but not posting, as I have said so much on this in the past, have nothing worthwhile to add (except despair), and know all you people out there are perfectly capable of studying my current affairs links in the side bar, or whatever favourites you might have in that area.

Today, however, The Poet referred me to a historical story that concerns his family tree, and may also attract Jim Belshaw’s notice as it concerns northern NSW. It appears the first Australian to hit the beach at Gallipoli in 1915 was a member of The Poet’s family. See Bravery of First Anzac.

Speaking of Jim, he has lately posted some very good analysis and very good questions about the NSW HSC and the mysterious but vital Universities Admissions Index (UAI). I have posted my own ignorance on the subject over on The mysteries and injustices (?) of the NSW UAI ranking. Do look over there. I am sure both Jim and I would be interested in any responses; there are links to and extracts from Jim’s posts there.

Site Meter

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 7, 2007 in Aussie interest, Education, Jim Belshaw

 

One response to “The Poet and Gallipoli

  1. Jim Belshaw

    January 7, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks for this, Neil, and for the other post as well. I will do a short post on the New England blog at some point just so that I don’t lose the story.

     
 
