RSS

Oxford Street Sydney

28 Jan

They have been cleaning it up lately, but it is still a dowdy old queen of a street in many ways. I’m not there as much as I used to be, and very rarely at night. These days too I tend to avoid Mardi Gras, not because I don’t respect its significance, but I really don’t like crowds. You may read my thoughts on the subject by clicking the link in the previous sentence. The season is almost upon us again.

A few years ago Sydney City Council had an exhibition on Sydney Streets. Perhaps that old Cronulla pic in the previous entry has prompted me, but I thought I’d indulge in a bit more nostalgia with two photos of Oxford Street from that 2003 exhibition. The top one is in the 1940s, the bottom from 2003. It’s around 20-25 minutes walk from here in Elizabeth Street Surry Hills.

new_oxford4.jpg

oxford_now.jpg

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Oxford Street Sydney

Posted by on January 28, 2007 in Aussie interest, gay life/issues, Observations, Surry Hills

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
