RSS

On the Smell of an Oily Rag: speaking English, thinking Chinese and living Australian

13 Feb

That is such a good title!

It is Ouyang Yu’s latest book, forthcoming with Wakefield Press in South Australia, 2007. Back in June 2006 I discussed his The Eastern Slope Chronicle, you may recall. Marcel still has my copy. 😉

Sunday there is a Chinese New Year Party at M’s. Sirdan, Simon H and David Humphries are going too — well, that is the understanding at the moment. I wish I could tell you more about it, but M likes his privacy. What I can tell you is that the party will be a total demonstration of what multiculturalism can actually mean. M has done amazingly well since arriving from China hardly able to speak English and with just one suitcase in late 1989.

wei

Guan Wei: Ned Kelly encounters the troopers in the mystic mountains

Guan Wei (the picture links to his site) was born in Beijing in 1957. He now lives and works in Sydney. By coincidence, he received his Australian citizenship at the same ceremony as M.

Site Meter

 

Tags: ,

One response to “On the Smell of an Oily Rag: speaking English, thinking Chinese and living Australian

  1. marcelproust

    February 13, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Yes, I still have the book. From time to time I reread bits. It has grown on me, but without my interest in and albeit superficial knowledge of things Chinese, I think I would be at a loss what to make of it. I still find the two main characters difficult to differentiate. There are parts which have made me laugh out loud. Maybe if you were to wangle (?) an invitation to M’s party for me, I could return it.

    In the meantime, I am looking forward to the next one, though the title suggests it may not be as exuberant as “Eastern Slope.”

     
 
