RSS

Some nostalgia for you…

14 Feb

The 2000 Olympics seem just yesterday to a grumpy old man like me. I bring you, courtesy of YouTube and mswanson88 who posted it, Christine Anu singing “My Island Home” at the closing ceremony:

And meet from the next-door suburb of Newtown Anthony Hill, Aboriginal story-teller and artist. The video is French, which tests my school French, but Anthony speaks in English. You get an authentic voice here from right in the centre of Sydney Australia. Thanks to celoudin who posted this.

Jim Belshaw is teasing out an alternative approach to Aboriginal Australia and to our shared history. I treat his project with great respect, even if my position and his may not be identical. Where I am coming from I make very clear on my Indigenous Australians page, but that does not make my position incompatible with Jim’s. I look forward to reading more of his work on this subject. See Jim Belshaw’s personal reflections on Aborigines.

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Some nostalgia for you…

Posted by on February 14, 2007 in Aussie interest, Cultural and other, Indigenous Australians, Jim Belshaw, Multiculturalism and diversity

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
