RSS

City oasis

17 Mar

With reference to Daniel’s latest post, here is a place I like to go sometimes. It is within walking distance of Surry Hills and Chinatown.

Later

Yes, that is the Chinese Garden of Friendship in Darling Harbour. I decided to go down there after coaching in Chinatown today to have some dim sum and green tea in the teahouse, especially now I can get my Seniors Card discount. 🙂 Of course I had Shou Mei (old man’s eyebrows). I am glad I visited the garden, as I called in on Sam, who has the “dress up as a Chinese princess” concession in the garden, something he has been doing for fifteen years now. I first met Sam, who was once in the Beijing Opera, in 1990. I remember it well. I was in a coffee shop and Sam was serving. I was reading an illustrated book about the Tiananmen incidents of 1989. “I can tell you all about that,” said Sam. “I was there.” And indeed he was. It turns out Sam is giving up the “dress as a princess” business in April, and going into something new. He’s over fifty years old now too. How time flies!

Some time in 1990 or 1991 I took Sam (and M and a guy from Tianjin, a scientist, called Rui) to SBHS to talk in a history class that was studying China. Sam rather stole the show when he told the students how his father, also in the Beijing Opera, had been beaten to death by Red Guards during the Cultural Revolution. Kind of brought Chinese History to life, that did.

Site Meter

 

3 responses to “City oasis

  1. Antony Shen

    March 17, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Dear ninglun, you forgot to mention the name of the place. From the picture, I take that is the Chinese Garden in Darling Harbour, which I’ve never been to.

     
  2. Daniel

    March 17, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Ah, the peace of it all! Great photo, Ninglun. Shame about the highrise building in the background but then, perfection can rarely be found in a city.

    Then I guess it’s similar to the Buddhist Temple in Wollongong that has the expressway running along one of its boundaries. Cheers.

     
  3. Lisa

    March 17, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Looks lovely. I’m going to add it to the agenda for my next trip to Sydney. I also want to go to Taronga 🙂

     
 
