RSS

Good Friday in Redfern 2007

06 Apr

I could almost just recycle Good Friday 2006:

I mentioned a few days ago that Holy Week in Redfern looked promising. The Maronites drew the crowd — they were inside their cathedral, and on the footpath outside, and on the other side of the street as well.

At South Sydney Uniting Church there were fewer, but an interesting mix, as it was a shared service with the Cana Community. I ended up having a good chat with Father Brian Stoney, who, aside from having been a “good mate” of Mother Theresa of Calcutta, was also well acquainted with my old cyberfriend “Father Ted”, otherwise the late Fr Ken Sinclair of Melbourne.

Afterwards I rang Lord Malcolm; I plan to see him tomorrow. He is still in St Vincent’s Hospital.

This year Lord M is in the hospice but plans to come home for an overnight stay tomorrow: hence the bonus DVDs I mentioned yesterday.

You can find out a bit more about Brian Stoney in the SBS doco series Football Shorts. Look for “Street Soccer”.

stoneysbs.jpg

What Fr Stoney said today was quite profound, I thought; some found it a bit dark.

There were more people at our service this year, I think, and a couple of high school boys videoed it. I am not sure for whom.

Here’s another video, “Redfern People 28 March 07”, posted by renodal.

 
Comments Off on Good Friday in Redfern 2007

Posted by on April 6, 2007 in Aussie interest, Events, Faith and philosophy, Personal, Religion

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
