RSS

Lord Malcolm update

09 Apr

Lord M came home overnight Saturday through Sunday, glad of a break from the hospice. Among things he did at home was to compose his own obituary. At the appropriate time I will post it here.

roulettes.jpg

He does mention a role he played in modifying the RAAF’s Pilatus PC-9s. UPDATE 11 April. I mentioned this to Lord M. What he did was rather more than “modify”. In fact he was sent to Switzerland to design all the electrical wiring for the instrumentation in the cockpit. “Basic design principles” he says; quite a feather in his cap, I say! Note also the Jim Belshaw connection in the comment below.

Later

Sirdan collected Lord M from the hospice and brought him by taxi to Darling Harbour where we were able to look around the Chinese Garden.

Site Meter

 
 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Lord Malcolm update

  1. Jim Belshaw

    April 9, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Good Lord, Neil. You managed to combine a blast from my past, my wife’s past as well as, would you believe, Peter Debnam’s.

    From early 83 to 87 I had (among other things) industry policy responsibility for the aerospace sector. My wife was also involved in this area first in the Department and then as a minsterial adviser in John Button’s office. Defence had been developing its own basic trainer aircraft – Peter Debnam had an involvement here. This struck problems, leading to the decision to buy the Pilatus.

     
  2. ninglun

    April 10, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    I will tell Malcolm about that, if I get the chance. He would be interested.

     
 
