RSS

Going where angels fear to tread…

20 Apr

I have put much thought into a long entry on my English and ESL blog begun yesterday and finished this morning: On welfare issues with Korean-Australian students.

In the past fifteen years I have both at school and in the tuition sector had quite a bit of contact with parents and students in the Korean community. Before that (1990-1991) I learned something of Korean culture and attitudes from young adults studying English at a Sydney language college. Some of the conversations at that college went into some depth. There were some very thoughtful people in the groups I had then, many of whom were very keen to share, at times very personally and very deeply. I was interested as I had known virtually nothing about Koreans before that. What I learned stood me in good stead later on…

The majority of the Korean adolescents I met in high school thrived; indeed many did very well in all respects, academically and socially. But there were sometimes issues. Such issues were of sufficient concern for the Korean Consulate to organise a community forum in 2004, which I attended…

It is, as I noted here, published with much circumspection and modesty, but I hope it contributes something to our thinking.

Even later

See Gus on VolaciousNet for the perspective of a young Australian who “grew up around firearms”: …Because despite the bloodshed, this will not change a thing in the US in terms of gun control. It’ll happen again… and again… and will not stop. All because of this assumption that it is a right to own firearms…

It angers and saddens me that it is now too late for America. Because of this right, there will always be stockpiles of weapons and no amount of “gun control” will ever fix this. They live in fear of their neighbour, or their schoolmates, who could just be packing a 9mm Reuger under their trenchcoat and have a grudge with society. What kind of “freedom” is that?

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Going where angels fear to tread…

Posted by on April 20, 2007 in Aussie interest, Current affairs, Education, immigration, Multiculturalism and diversity, News and Current Affairs, Observations

 

Comments are closed.

 
