RSS

Latest on Lord Malcolm

07 May

I am just back from the hospice, and Lord M is very weak this morning.

Something that happened recently really annoys me though. One of Lord M’s friends — someone who has his/her good points and has admittedly been a good friend in many ways — is unfortunately and sadly a bit fond of being *out of it* by one means or another, usually involving ethanol in various potable forms, but other stuff as well. The other day this person encountered The Empress and Sirdan in one of our haunts on Oxford Street — almost former haunts in my case. He/she was very *out of it* at the time, so much so that The Empress and Sirdan really didn’t want to engage in conversation, particularly as it took the form of a harangue, or so I am told, the subject of which was Lord M. Eventually security was called and the person expelled.

OK, not a lot to write home about.

Except the person, no doubt still *out of it*, later rang Lord M at the hospice and retailed a cock and bull story about what The Empress had allegedly said about Lord M and that Sirdan had backed The Empress up. Full on drama queen performance, in other words, and all lies or fantasy it would appear. However, Lord M was seriously upset. He rang me, I rang Sirdan and established the truth, and then rang Lord M back.

Why the person would ring a man in Lord M’s situation and condition with such mischievous drivel is beyond me. Except that he/she was *out of it*. No excuse.

Bloody drugs! Bloody alcohol! I get more cheesed off every day with that whole scene. Except that I met Lord M, Sirdan, The Empress (for all his foibles) and quite a few decent folk through the same scene. Mostly though, it’s maybe 80-90% of people I really wouldn’t bother spending a moment with except they happen to be in a bar, which is no doubt true of many bars, gay or straight.

Related

Last Sunday’s visit to Lord Malcolm.

Site Meter

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2007 in gay life/issues, Marcel, Personal

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Latest on Lord Malcolm

  1. JahTeh

    May 7, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    He/she wasn’t that ‘out of it’ that he/she remembered a phone number and managed a cock and bull story. I dislike people who say “Oh I didn’t mean that” because if it wasn’t in their brain they wouldn’t have said it in the first place.

    I lurk to see how Lord M is doing.

     
  2. marcelproust

    May 7, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Sad story here, but I can’t work out why anyone would need to call “security” to expel someone they know just because they are being subjected to an unwelcome harangue. I have to wonder whether there weren’t dramatic (as in “she’s such a drama!”) capacities on both sides.

     
  3. ninglun

    May 7, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Not literally “security” as in armed guard, but merely the person who decides whether someone shouldn’t be served any more and should be asked to leave. It happens every day in bars. (RSA and all that.) The person was not responding to polite suggestions so the official request to leave was made. Naturally too I am being a bit vague about all the circumstances.

     
 
