RSS

There are enough serious things going on right now…

13 May

…I thought I would respond to Benjamin Solah’s tag.

Today so far has been South Sydney Uniting Church, then lunch at the Porter House with Sirdan who then went off to see Lord Malcolm while I came on home. Sirdan is off to South Africa for twelve days in a few weeks to visit his mother; first time he’s been there for many years. His brother says he has a surprise for him… Much speculation about what that might be.

I should also mention that Ric Williams and son Brian now have a blog up and running: they just linked here: FIRST FLEET ON. Williams/Nash, Pioneers Australia.

I don’t often get tags and don’t always respond when I do, but since Benjamin asked so nicely (I choose Deb, Fred, Eli, Ninglun, Adrian, Teresa, Talia and Dawn R to clearly show that their life is probably more weird and interesting then mine is) I thought I’d give it a go. Here are the rules:

1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2. People who are tagged write their own blog post about their 8 things and post these rules.
3. At the end choose 8 people to get tagged and list their names.
4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged and to read your blog.

That last one is where I am going to cheat. I will choose eight but will leave it entirely up to them to respond (or not) if they happen to read this entry.

My eight random things

1. I am short, though not that short. Kind of Napoleon-sized. When younger I was very short. At 11, in fact, I was as tall as the standard railway gauge is wide, so that I used this as a measure once to win a bet from a friend who claimed Sydney’s then tram tracks were narrower gauge than railway tracks. I lay down across the tracks in Eddy Avenue outside Sydney Central Station in the morning peak hour to prove my point. Sydney was less busy then, but it still wasn’t really a good idea.

2. My work spaces become impossibly messy. When I can no longer find anything I tidy up. M finds this very annoying. It can take a long time for the chaos to get too much even for me.

3. I read up to six books at a time. This is rarely confusing.

4. I got my first mobile phone less than a year ago, and even then the simplest one I could find. I no longer have a landline.

5. I recently discovered I was lactose intolerant. Fortunately I also discovered lactose-free milk. Otherwise I’d be drinking soy. I do have soy when I go to the Juice and Java downstairs.

6. I have been here in Surry Hills just on fifteen years. This is a personal record. It is entirely due to M.

7. My most embarrassing moment was standing on a stage at a Dapto High Year Assembly (I was Year Master, as they called it then) with a spotlight on me and my fly undone. The kids laughed for weeks.

8. I have lost count of the number of times I have given up smoking. It will happen.

OK, your go if you want to. [Ticking them as they are done.] Victims: Jim Belshaw, Antony, Aluminium check_tick1.gif, Thomas check_tick1.gif and Marcel Proust as a bonus, Adrian Phoon check_tick1.gif [now deleted], Ric Williams (since I mentioned you today), and Arthur check_tick1.gif — so long as he doesn’t use the word “fundie” anywhere in his post. 😉 [3 July 2007: a bit late, Arthur. 😉 ] Entirely up to you, people. My links page tells you who they all are.

The state of the blogosphere

Do you ever check Dave Sifry’s State of the Live Web on Technorati? “Technorati is now tracking over 70 million weblogs, and we’re seeing about 120,000 new weblogs being created worldwide each day. That’s about 1.4 blogs created every second of every day.” The following stats by language are interesting:

bloglangs.jpg

And for comparison:

1steleven.gif

Update 14 May night

I am glad I took up Benjamin’s meme; it has proved interesting and popular. Note the ticked victims… And the top five for the past seven days (see next entry for this morning’s position) is now:

Title ____________________________Views

1. The connection has timed out — Firefox 47
2. This post 43
3. Two Australian poems of World War II 28
4. War poetry 27 (ESL)
5. Does Tim Blair etc. 25

Site Meter

 

Tags: ,

16 responses to “There are enough serious things going on right now…

  1. ninglun

    May 15, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Adrian, is your blog now protected, or is WP doing something strange? It’s the whole blog, not just the meme entry…

     
  2. Adrian

    May 15, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    No no, I protected it — it’s an extreme way of keeping the blog off limits from trolls and spammers while I figure out what I want to do with it in the long term. It’ll be back shortly (memes and all!).

     
  3. ninglun

    May 15, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    OK. Despite my anal retentiveness about spam here in the past, Akismet does a good job weeding them out, and so long as you check for misjudgements, you can just delete them of let WP do it for you. Good to check though. Thomas’s comments, for example, almost invariably end up in the spam box from where I “despam” them; I think it is because he has a gmail address and a Blogspot blog! You could just close individual entries, or you could block or delete trolls. Had you enabled moderation? It helps.

    The way your blog is configured at the moment all I get is my own dashboard page, when I am logged in! I can read you in Blog Surfer from my dashboard.

     
  4. Thomas

    May 15, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Your spam detector was probably right. Most of what I’ve got to say has to do with spam.

    Like did you know you can get a whole bottle of pills for the low low price of $12.99 (+ shipping and tax)?

     
  5. ninglun

    May 15, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Yes, Thomas, that got binned!

     
  6. NH__

    May 19, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Nice site, I have bookmarked your site yet and I will come back again ! You have a greatest site!

     
 
