RSS

Andrew Denton’s God On My Side

21 May

Yes I just watched God On My Side, which has just finished. Denton goes from strength to strength. His Gallipoli documentary was very good but tonight’s was quite brilliant. A transcript can’t come soon enough, but because this is a documentary film outside Enough Rope, it may well be there won’t be one.

Meanwhile see the comments on the program and the video below. And I agree with Margaret! David, what’s wrong with you?

I do sympathise with Aluminium, who also watched the program.


It may have been seen by some as a freak show, but while there were undoubted freaks there was a lot more. I would commend it to thoughtful Christians without hesitation. I will return to a few issues raised in more detail later on. There are so many, such as rampant bibliolatry, and an amazing naivety about such basics as the actual religious views of the founding fathers of the USA.

I have already addressed some of this before of course: for example, Reading the Bible. That entry refers to my eccenticity — following the US Episcopalian Daily Office readings, which lately took me through Leviticus, one of the five books that derive from the Moses tradition but were not written by him. Now Leviticus the Episcopalians put gloves on before they read, and they leave most of it out. Quite understandable. There is also some really good stuff in Leviticus. Quite a patchwork, the Bible.

Site Meter

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Andrew Denton’s God On My Side

  1. AV

    May 22, 2007 at 1:44 am

    There are so many, such as rampant bibliolatry,

    Yeah–I think it was right at the end that Denton asked them why the Bible is right and the Koran is wrong, and they attempt to justify their claim by quoting the Bible.

    It’s mindblowing how they can’t seem to grasp the sheer circularity of that logic, nor the fact that what seems commonsensical to them seems positive loopy (pun intended) to us.

    Maybe they do grasp it, but don’t care.

     
  2. ninglun

    May 28, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Interesting review of this show from Mike in Tasmania.

     
 
