RSS

Final Lord Malcolm reports: Malcolm Gordon Gleeson, died 1 June 2007

01 Jun

See the special page in Malcolm’s honour.

Monday 28 May

His beloved Swannies won at the weekend at least. I told Sirdan I would check in this afternoon and Lord M was less cyanosed: the blue lips were more or less back to normal. His half-brother in Tassie has been in touch and a last bit of organising Lord M is doing as far as he can is to enable his half-brother to come to Sydney for the funeral. Lord M was on the phone about that this afternoon. He told the friend he was talking to to come in ASAP as every minute now was that much nearer the end. “If I can stay alive overnight — and that’s the hard bit — I’ll fix that tomorrow,” Lord M said. “Then I can go peacefully.”

I said as I left, “See you again, if the gods permit.” I put a smile on his face by telling a story about my mother. Years ago we were seeing the Picton great-uncles off the planet at rather regular two year intervals. One was left. My mother, slightly the better for sherry at the time, said, “OK, Uncle. See you in two years.” “You might see me girl, but I won’t be seeing you,” he replied with a bit of a twinkle in the old eye. My mother was a touch embarrassed.

See a blessing for Malcolm.

Later

I had quite an amazing conversation with M about all this…

Tuesday morning 29 May

Phone conversation. He’s still hanging on. Compare Sunday, May 29, 2005.

Thursday 31 May

I have just come from the hospice. His ship is about to leave, it seems… He was conscious of my visit, and I am told his half-brother came to see him Tuesday. He couldn’t talk though as he is only just breathing. The hospice will ring when the time comes.

Mind you, he looked worse on Sunday, but then, as I said to Sirdan, on Sunday he looked worse than my mother did after she had died.

8847.jpgLater

Sirdan, The Empress and I met at The Shift this evening to talk about arrangements. Sirdan had spent several hours with Lord M this afternoon, together with another friend from Lord M’s flying and music lives.

Now to watch Air Australia on ABC, in Lord M’s honour, so to speak.

As you now know, I was right to think that would be the last time I was to see Malcolm…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 1, 2007 in gay life/issues, Marcel, Personal

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Final Lord Malcolm reports: Malcolm Gordon Gleeson, died 1 June 2007

  1. marcellous

    May 28, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    Good to hear about that conversation, Neil: at times like these I am sure a conversation with somebody you are close to and know well is very valuable.

     
 
