RSS

Kanani Fong has tagged me

14 Jun

Unfortunately the meme is very similar to the “eight things” one I did not long ago. But here goes with ten things you didn’t know about me, if there are ten things after blogging so long now…

1. Until I was about twelve years old I was not allowed to walk barefoot (though I did!) — some kind of bone problem.

2. I once broke my neck without knowing I had done it until an X-ray showed it about thirty years later!

3. I was at one time a Sunday School superintendent.

4. At 19 I met Sir Hudson Fysh, one of the founders of QANTAS.

5. When I was about nine my older brother caught me and little Cliffie in the bamboos near the creek. Cliffie was trying to have sex with me. Cliffie was about ten. My brother told me to hurry up and get home as dinner was ready… (Whatever happened to Cliffie, I wonder?) I didn’t try sex again until very much later, but my brother was married within about three years from then. There was no TV in those days.

6. I once convinced little Andy that I was really Robin of Batman and Robin fame.

7. I convinced another little boy that there really were fairies at the bottom of his garden. Could some of these entries be connected, I wonder?

8. I annoyed my teachers at Sydney High when in Years 7 and 8 by still getting good results even though I spent about a quarter of the time at home in bed. (I had a series of illnesses at that age.)

9. At age six I addressed the Head of Infants at Sutherland as “Old Ma Bevan” — because I was dared to, having told my friends that is what my older brother called her. Miss Bevan was very understanding, considering.

10. My Rugby Union career lasted about one month — as a linesman, aged 11. There was not much opening in Rugby for 11-year-olds who were lightly framed and four foot nine inches tall. My school reference at age 16 still said “took an interest in Rugby.”

Now to name the victims.

Jim Belshaw. See here. And a fine job too. 🙂

Kevin. I am sure he will do would have done it well. (As you will see in the comments, Kevin has taken the fifth on this. 😉 )

Aluminium. See here.

Site Meter

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2007 in blogging, Diversions, Jim Belshaw, Personal

 

6 responses to “Kanani Fong has tagged me

  1. kanani

    June 15, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Great list!
    Ha! Old Ma Bevan! Pretty funny what you’ll do as a kid on a dare. And how much things have changed since then… that’s tame compared to what kids do these days.

    thanks for taking part. I’ll look over at Kevin’s page next.

     
  2. ninglun

    June 15, 2007 at 6:29 am

    You’ll find Kevin and I disagree on just about everything. 😉

     
  3. Kevin

    June 16, 2007 at 11:44 am

    I in no way mean to offend (this time! 🙂 ) but I non-violently protest the ‘tag’ game by not playing. Same as those emails that tell you to forward them to 10 people ‘or else’.

    Pet peeve, I think. Sorry!

     
  4. ninglun

    June 16, 2007 at 11:54 am

    I don’t usually do them either, unless they happen to amuse me, as this one did.

     
  5. kanani

    June 18, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Okay, so we shall make them up about Kevin.

    1. He blogs at 3am.

     
  6. ninglun

    June 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Well, Kanani, there are known unknowns and unknown knowns, and indeed unknown unknowns, as someone famous once said, or something like that at least. Perhaps Kevin’s unknown unknowns will have to stay unknown.

     
 
