RSS

Ahmad Shuja posts again at last

15 Jun

Back in March I was wondering what had become of MyScribbles, the quite remarkable blog of a young Afghan Hazara living in Pakistan. At long last he has posted again, I am happy to say: anything might have happened to him in his part of the world. It isn’t everyone who can begin a matter-of-fact entry thus:

Okay, so I got an offer of full tuition, room, board and laptop scholarship from Berea College. I accepted it, enrolled and got approved of a student visa after passing an interview at the American Embassy in Islamabad. But some of you might know that last year I traveled to Bamian for research for an upcoming book I am co-authoring. Also, that on my way to Bamian, I nearly got killed…


I suspect he is in for some culture shock, but a college that “has earned renown for the excellence of its academic programs as well as for its unique labor program and strong focus on service to Appalachia” will probably be easy after the Taliban. I hope they realise the quality they are getting in Ahmad.

Site Meter

 

One response to “Ahmad Shuja posts again at last

  1. MyScribbles: Write-ups of an Afghan

    June 16, 2007 at 4:51 am

    Thank you very much, ninglun, for the kind words.

     
 
