RSS

Move over Margaret and David…

26 Jun

… Thomas may not have appeared on your radar, but he may before long. Could there be a career in this?

Just a shame I have seen only one of the movies he’s talking about, and then, come to think of it, I only saw that because I read about it earlier on his blog. By the way, we are told the entry will be finished tomorrow, so I may have to revise the link…

A couple of years ago when Thomas had another persona Mr Rabbit had alerted me to this intelligent person he knew who could write really well. Unfortunately I tended to disagree at the time, as that persona and some of his subject matter brought out the grumpy old man in me in quite a big way. (Marcel was rather similarly affected, as I recall, and he can’t yet be accused of being a grumpy old man, even if he has a rather alarming cat.*) But it seems The Rabbit was a better spotter than I. (Still makes the odd spelling mistake though… fantasiced, tsk!)

I look forward to reading the rest, and may even track down the other movie, though my movie watching does tend to be governed by what I can get at Surry Hills Library — free, you see. Mind you, I don’t have quite the same fixation on the persons of Ms Portman and Ms Tautou, but I guess that is understandable. I’m a big fan of how the camera is used in films. Me too, and oddly enough I taught Photography at one stage as well as English. Handy that, nowadays.

* Don’t try to discern any logic whatsoever in that segue… 😉

Site Meter

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Move over Margaret and David…

  1. theportmaniac

    June 26, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    My how word spreads fast these days. Though, then again, it was a laborious 20+ minute task to read my post, so I guess there was plenty of time to think about it haha.

    I feel somewhat inspired to finish this post now, seeings it’s got *some* interest in its infancy. Though not tonight. My brain is, for once, exhausted. Exam today, writing some other stuff then hashing that post out in an hour took its toll on me – especially considering the fact that I haven’t had a workout like that for some time! And I hope that those spelling mistakes can be forgotten come the conclusion. And let us also forget about earlier days and other personas.

    Glad to see that someone likes (and endured) the post thus far. If you’re a fan of the camera work of a film, then I suspect you may enjoy the conclusion. I’ve always had a tendency to go in-depth in that regard.

     
  2. ninglun

    June 26, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    …let us also forget about earlier days and other personas… Though they were inventive. Guess I am still a bit ashamed of my over-reaction too…

     
  3. theportmaniac

    June 27, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Apologies. Today was not a good day for blogging here. Tomorrow I’ll put the rest of it to bed I hope.

     
  4. theportmaniac

    June 29, 2007 at 12:49 am

    That post, I believe, is finished. And not even an hour late.

     
 
