RSS

Maps

27 Jun

I love maps. Always have. You’ll notice that I now have a map as my masthead, and yes my place is in there somewhere, so there you see my little everyday world.

Last April I referred to a marvellous blog called Strange Maps, which is often one of the top blogs here on WordPress.

Here are smaller versions of a couple of recent ones. You must visit Strange Maps to see them bigger, read about them, and start exploring the other maps.

First, 130 – A Ten-State Australia, which should interest Jim Belshaw and horrify John Howard, I suspect.

australia_1838.jpg

Second, 131 – US States Renamed For Countries With Similar GDPs.

usaaus.jpg

Fascinating site.

Site Meter

 

3 responses to “Maps

  1. Yee Piao

    June 27, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Nothing serious here but please don’t report me as a spam. I am totally mad with Akismet already!

    I think from somewhere in your blog, I knew that you were a teacher so is Bourke St. Public School the place you teach (can’t find any schools in the map anymore)? Anyway, nice and creative header image. Like it.

    Most of the countries which make names appeared in there. Malaysia is not that bad after all…

     
  2. ninglun

    June 27, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Akismet let you through, but it does tend sometimes to react to cues like a combination of gmail address and Blogspot blog! Usually, though, this is only when there are several links in the comment as well. It really doesn’t make too many mistakes — close to 10,000 spams have been blocked on this blog since April 2006.

    Occasionally I do send comments to spam by mistake. They mostly seem to come back within minutes, so they can be despammed then. It is important to quickly read the spams before deleting, and not just to leave them for automatic deletion, which happens after 15 days. That way a few real comments might be lost.

    So I actually like Akismet, though I hate spam. 🙂

    And no, the school where I used to work and still do sometimes is off the map to the right, in Moore Park.

     
  3. Bruce

    June 29, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    I think the map of the various traditional language groups needs to feature a bit more. I reckon I’ll try an find an online copy now.

     
 
