RSS

Andrew Denton interviews Sir Elton John

12 Jul

Now I really thought this would be boring and a dud, but it proved not to be the case. This bit should be framed and put on a wall. I will do the next best thing and blog it. 😉 If anyone ever wondered what “Gay Pride” means, here is your chance to find out.

ANDREW DENTON: It’s interesting, you wrote an article for the New Statesman earlier this year about gay prejudice…
SIR ELTON JOHN: Mm mm…
ANDREW DENTON: In different parts of the world and I noted that when you perform in Poland where quite a right wing…
SIR ELTON JOHN: Yeah I said something in Poland…
ANDREW DENTON: You said something on stage and this, the administration actually attempted to shut down homosexuality and any public since…
SIR ELTON JOHN: Yeah…
ANDREW DENTON: That seems an uncharacteristically political thing for you to do on stage. What was that like for you?
SIR ELTON JOHN: I’m at a point in my life where I have to make a stand. I mean this was going on in Poland and I said it in front of a televised audience. I said, “Listen, I’m a gay man. I’ve come here. You people, you’ve applauded me and you know you have to be more tolerant. Well you know we’re not the enemy”. If we’re living in the 21st century and people are still worried about homosexuality being evil, when the Catholic Church has covered child molestation for the last 25 years and done nothing about it, then we live in a funny society. I just don’t get it and the older I get, I just don’t get what’s going on in the world, the anger towards people that don’t deserve anger. When there’s not enough focus on people like Robert Mugabe… To deserve to be gotten out of the way and gotten rid of, it’s just we live in a crazy world. I’ve become very disillusion by it. But I have to speak out. I have to speak my mind because as a gay man now I have a responsibility to. I sat back too long. I mean when Act Up were going in and trying to change the face of AIDS awareness in America because nobody else was doing it, I sat back and did nothing…
ANDREW DENTON: And why was that? You just didn’t know how to be committed or…?
SIR ELTON JOHN: I don’t know…
ANDREW DENTON: Or you were self-involved?
SIR ELTON JOHN: I just, I don’t know why I didn’t do anything. I just look back and question myself. Well why didn’t you do something more positive then? I mean, I did the odd record of… I mean friends of mine were dying right, left and centre of AIDS and the government in America was doing nothing with AIDS. You know, we live in a fantastic world which has somehow become so hateful and so divisive and it’s all fuelled by religion and that makes me very sad because, you know, I’m not an irreligious person and I do have my beliefs. And the older I get the more I see a need for love and tolerance and forgiveness and let’s get on with each other…we need peace more in our time now than we ever needed it.
ANDREW DENTON: It’s good to see you so passionate though, because it’s very easy and certainly with your level of success, but also as you get older to go it someone else’s problem.
SIR ELTON JOHN: …I mean it’s very hard for me to bite my tongue now… And I said in an interview with Jake Shears from the Scissor Sisters, “I think religion should be banned”. I didn’t really. What I meant to say, what I told him really, it was like I think religious leaders need to take a good look at themselves and take the stand that they’re taking in this day and age in the 21st century, for Christ’s sake, this is not the Middle Ages. Being hateful towards gay people is evil, you know. I’m afraid this has come basically from the religious right in America…
ANDREW DENTON: Mm…
SIR ELTON JOHN: We’ve seen the, you know, homosexual is something that can be…altered and be dealt with and you can be cured. And it’s like, I’m very happy being who I am. I’m a good person. I love being who I am. I just happen to be gay. I’m a very good person. I give back. I’ve made mistakes. I love other people. I want the world to be a positive place. Stop hating me, stop hating me, stop treating me like some f*cking thing from Mars, I’m a human being. I do better things in my life than you do and all you can do is be hateful, hateful, hateful, I’m sick of it.

Passionate!




Site Meter

 

3 responses to “Andrew Denton interviews Sir Elton John

  1. Daniel

    July 12, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    I agree! Tolerance and love are what is required if peace is to ever have a chance.

     
  2. Duncan

    July 12, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    It appears as though the older Elton gets the less he’s worried about what people think of him…

     
  3. ninglun

    July 12, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Yes, Duncan, he kept everyone guessing there for a while, didn’t he? Not that I can judge him too much on that score.

    Thanks for your comment, Daniel. Indeed so.

     
 
