RSS

Technology and tutoring

18 Jul

My coachee D, the only Chinese Rugby League player I happen to know, is studying Peter Weir’s Witness as one of his Standard English HSC texts. The only problem has been I do not have a copy, could not get one either from the video library or Surry Hills Library, and couldn’t find it in either of the DVD shops I go to.

“Not to worry,” said D. “My mate has downloaded it from the internet.” So on Saturday he came in with his memory stick (2GB) and I transferred the movie to my Toshiba. For study purposes only. To have attempted to download it from the internet via Unwired on my low-end Toshiba could have been a nightmare.

But then we had a problem. I couldn’t play it. OK, I later obtained a codec that enabled Windows Media Player to handle the format, but what I had was a silent movie, which is actually enough if you just want to examine the cinematic language of the movie, something we do plan to do.

D then emailed me another media player. Unfortunately Avast! decided it didn’t want to download an .exe file in Outlook Express so that was aborted, which I really don’t mind. Now I knew the name of the player all I had to do anyway was find the download site via Google (or Avant Search, which is very good); I did so and now have VLC Media Player and a copy of Witness that has a sound track!

Amazing to me, no doubt ordinary to most of you.



Site Meter

 

Tags:

One response to “Technology and tutoring

  1. Ron Shasta

    July 21, 2007 at 3:46 am

    I’ve come across a number of online tutoring websites (e.g. tutor.com, homeworkhelp.com, tutoreasy.com, http://www.schooltrainer.com, etc.). Has anyone prepared a comparison of the various companies (pricing, quality, etc.)?

     
 
