RSS

Morrison Plays Schifrin July 19,21 Sydney Opera House

19 Jul

On this cold night I am not there, but as I have fiddled with the Big Archive in my warm Elizabeth Street hovel ABC Classic FM has been bringing this SSO concert to me… 🙂

…Schifrin, who also turns 75 in 2007, returns with a new take on symphonic jazz, performing three original compositions. Fantasy for Screenplay and Orchestra is music for an imaginary film so vivid you’ll see the movie in your mind’s eye. Schifrin is a legendary figure of film music, having composed the Oscar-nominated score for Cool Hand Luke, among many others. And, bringing a little classical style to jazz exuberance is a new concerto composed especially for the brazen genius of trumpeter James Morrison, pianist Ambre Hammond and the Sydney Symphony.

James is the brother of John, Lord Malcolm’s friend. In fact the whole family were Lord Malcolm’s friends.

Thought I’d break my hiatus to bring you that.

Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Morrison Plays Schifrin July 19,21 Sydney Opera House

Posted by on July 19, 2007 in Aussie interest, Cultural and other, Personal

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
