RSS

Reading novels from the screen…

07 Aug

In my English/ESL blog a while ago I told you about a cheap resource I bought: Two newish resources for literary studies. Lately I have used it a bit more, and starting on a coaching Saturday between coachees I read from the store of 4000 works for $9.95 An International Episode by Henry James, and found it rather delightful.

I may use my 4,000 works a bit more often, though I have to say I still prefer “real” books. Still, I could sit in the Juice & Java with my laptop and generally pose, couldn’t I?


NOTE: Yesterday’s local history post on Cleveland House has been added to as I tracked down some really fascinating stuff…

Site Meter

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 7, 2007 in Cultural and other, Personal, Reading, Surry Hills

 

One response to “Reading novels from the screen…

  1. Cliff Burns

    August 7, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I’m afraid I belong to a generation who will never get used to reading text off a flat screen. Not intensively, not for long periods of time. Text is for scanning, you’re looking for context rather than content. I still prefer to hold a solid, three dimensional tome in my hand. And my thumbs don’t work fast enough for gaming consoles and my coordination is utterly pitiful besides. I feel like a dinosaur, seeing the bright flash of light on the horizon and wondering why it’s gotten so chilly all of a sudden…

     
 
