RSS

At last: a right-wing blog that doesn’t make me want to curl up and die…

15 Aug

Most right-wing blogs I read are simply execrable, cheer-leading, in the main, for the pooling of bigotry and stereotypes, and for some of the more lamentably self-satisfied trends in society, a word many of them would reject. This is especially true of US right-wing blogs, but Australia has its share, some of them sadly only too popular — or should that be populist?

So with great pleasure I introduce (courtesy of WordPress and its what’s hot links) a European blog of considerable merit, which is not to say I endorse absolutely everything on it. It is, however, a blog to be savoured. Click to visit.

 

vandergalien

It isn’t just their good taste in templates either. 😉 Here are two entries that I have enjoyed so far:


Watching Alexander Downer’s bitchy performance on Lateline last night really did make me want to curl up and die… If ever someone deserves to go…

Site Meter

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “At last: a right-wing blog that doesn’t make me want to curl up and die…

  1. Rich Horton

    August 25, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Hmmm…it isn’t exactly damning us with faint praise, but “At last: a right-wing blog that doesn’t make me want to curl up and die…” isn’t the sort of thing that makes it into the “Praise For This Blog” section either.

    🙂

    I’m sure if you give us a chance we can find lots of ways to annoy you…but in a good way.

     
  2. ninglun

    August 25, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    Thank you, Rich. It’s not that I have never read such blogs, you know. Yours has some wit to it, I see, but there was much I would be unlikely to agree with there too. It is partly a cultural void, wider than many suspect, between Australians and what we find on quite a few US sites. As my in many ways quite conservative friend Jim Belshaw says here, reflecting on some local and America matters, “I have not read Frank’s book nor do I fully understand all the complexities of the US experience, although I understand enough to know that there are profound cultural differences between the US and Australia despite the apparent similarities.” That is very true, one reason why US right-wing blogs often seem quite alien to me.

     
  3. Jim Belshaw

    August 27, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Not sure about the conservative bit, Neil. In fact, not at all sure. I feel a post coming on!

     
 
