RSS

Three to see

17 Aug

Wild Australasia — BBC (2000). (DVD) “…one of the most comprehensive surveys of Australasia’s natural history ever filmed.”

The video above is not from the series…

This series is just superb! Nasty of me I know, but I don’t know how any fundamentalist Jew, Christian, or Muslim could watch this series and retain their belief in the literal inspiration of their holy books! Think about Australia and New Zealand, lands those old prophets knew nothing about, with a human history going back 40,000 years and more. No Adam, no Noah, no Abraham… All reaching back way before their alleged dates… Makes you think, that. I still regard myself very much as a Christian, by the way, but get more and more worried by the poverty of fundamentalism. The recent documentary on Compass said it all really. Not all fundamentalists are a threat to others, but too many are. This happens when you lock yourself into an impossible proposition, I suppose. Most Christian fundamentalists, perhaps fortunately, don’t really believe what they assert: in practice they ignore great tracts of the Bible, and so they should. Nothing directly to do with the DVD, any of this, but whenever I think of the natural history of this country I can’t help such reflections.

Proof. Directed by Jocelyn Moorhouse. (1991). (DVD) “If you are a Russell Crowe fan like me you owe it to yourself to go rent this early example of his work, which deservedly won many Australian film awards in 1991. …”

And a very young Russell Crowe it is too, and he was good. This is a movie about a blind photographer… Yes, you read that correctly. I also wonder about something no-one else would notice. Crowe went to Sydney Boys High. In The Sum of Us he appears during the titles running around in an SBHS footy jumper. In this movie when we first see him in the alley at the back of the restaurant there is a large object — not quite sure what it is — in the background draped in SBHS colours…

The Naked Civil Servant. Directed by Jack Gold (Thames Television 1975). (DVD) John Hurt is brilliant in this groundbreaking TV drama! The vlog is kind of related:

Ground-breaking it sure was! The DVD extra features a late interview with Quentin Crisp in New York. That is worthwhile in itself.

Site Meter

 

3 responses to “Three to see

  1. Daniel

    August 17, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Hey, Neil, I had my sunglasses on and everything and, blow me down, the pink had gone and we have white all over.

    Never know what you’ll find on this blog! Keeps everyone on their toes I guess.

     
  2. ninglun

    August 17, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Yes, Daniel; there were issues in some browsers with the previous incarnation.

     
  3. ninglun

    August 18, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Daniel, I seem to have lost your last comment. I fear I hit the wrong button. 😦

    I sympathise about dial-up, and hope one way or the other you may have access to something better in the near future.

    Your comment may reappear… Hope so.

     
 
