RSS

Questioned by the police…

20 Aug

jj.gifYes, this morning as I stood in the courtyard outside Juice and Java, two friendly officers accosted me. You see, we have people living on the street here in Surry Hills, examples of those left out of the “you’ve never had it so good” that we hear about. They carry their homes around in shopping trolleys. The police were moving one of the trolleys and naturally I was watching.

“Excuse me, sir, is this your gear?”

“What?”

“Well, we saw you watching…”

“Nothing much to watch. At least you were different.”

“Oh, I see. Well, we do try to provide entertainment…”

Really should get a hair cut. Mind you I have come to rather like my new long hair. Any hair at my age has to be a bonus, even if at The Mine the other day a colleague suggested I look like Wild Bill Hickock, and (what with the hat) the new Indian newsagent asked me where my kelpie was this morning. I told him it was around the corner with the sheep.

I find too that I have something in common with Kevin Rudd. I too was drunk and moderately disorderly in a rather sleazy bar four years ago, but not in New York. Both Kevin and I have, however, never lost our trousers, as former PM Malcolm Fraser famously did. That was in the US too: a dangerous environment for Aussie politicians it appears. I commented on Kevingate on Journalspace yesterday.

Speaking of police, earlier I saw in Elizabeth Street a police vehicle similar to this:

watercannon

APEC is getting closer! See also NSW police to get water cannon. Never seen one before.


LATER

The street people and their shopping trolleys are still there… It would have been a cold, wet night out in Elizabeth Street last night.

Site Meter

 

2 responses to “Questioned by the police…

  1. Daniel

    August 20, 2007 at 10:34 am

    I’m not sure I should be associating with long-haired hippies. I have a reputation to protect you know (what reputation some might ask)!

    The little rat could well be using this Summit as a launching pad for a final last ditch effort. What’s the betting that protesters will be provoked then attacked by the Thought Police?

     
  2. ninglun

    August 20, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Ah, Daniel, let’s hope not.

    I trust also you are glad I pressed the correct button this time, so your comment has not vanished…

     
 
