RSS

Not entirely nostalgic

03 Sep

Way back in the fifties of the last century I often saw sights like this; though this is Auburn 1952 it could just as easily have been Sutherland 1954.

auburnhotel

 The infamous 6 o’clock swill. In our street this led to many a family having their tea (we didn’t say “dinner” in working class Sutherland) ruined as Dad staggered in barely conscious, or in fighting mood enough to give the wife and kids the back of his hand. Not pretty.

Not everything today is worse than it was way back then.

To a child passing nervously, the pub at that time was a frightening, noisy place, and the smell was unbelievable.

The photo is part of an exhibition Sydney’s Pubs: Liquor, Larrikins & the Law, scheduled for February.



Site Meter

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2007 in Aussie interest, Observations

 

2 responses to “Not entirely nostalgic

  1. Denys

    September 3, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I love how people from Sutherland say, “I’m from the Shire”.

    The first time I heard this phrase used was in the tearoom of a Randwick hospital. One nurse to another nurse, “So where do you live now”. “Newtown” came the response.

    “Oh, you’ve left the Shire!”

    “Yes, but I’m moving back” Classic.

     
  2. ninglun

    September 3, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I usually keep my hairy feet hidden. 😉

     
 
