RSS

Old friend

04 Oct

I introduce my old friend The Mufti of Watsons Bay thus on Who’s Who:

The Mufti was my neighbour in 1988-9 and has become a good friend who has helped me in many ways. Even he would admit to eccentricity. In some ways a total Tory, he shares my desire to see the back of John Howard. It is amazing who the Mufti knows: he’s even had afternoon tea with the Queen. He was an Anglican priest but reverted to Islam a couple of years ago. Not a terrorist.

Nor too strictly Muslim either now. He called in today. I hadn’t seen him or even spoken to him for possibly a year. In fact I had been feeling a bit guilty about that. But it turns out he has been overseas quite a bit: Zanzibar for one!  Looks tanned and terrific, especially for a man of 77. The Rabbit has met him.



Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Old friend

Posted by on October 4, 2007 in Personal

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
