RSS

Ancient history

05 Nov

tut What now must be ancient history itself is the fact that I taught Ancient History for the HSC, almost twenty years ago. The last gig was particularly fascinating because it was at a Jewish school and involved teaching the history of New Kingdom Egypt and of the Kingdom period of Israel, that last slightly ticklish in that context. I asked the Rabbi for some pointers and he referred me to a book written by an American Lutheran!

However, I maintain an amateur interest, unlike one of the Ancient History teachers at The Mine who is a real Egyptologist. So I was fascinated by the story in today’s Sydney Morning Herald about the face of Tutankhamen, as reconstructed on the right. That really leaps time, doesn’t it?

I should say, by the way, that the amount of drivel that is out there on Ancient Egypt, not to mention Ancient Israel, really is depressing; on the other hand the fascination is perfectly understandable.

As for Ancient History: my knowledge is OK for teaching juniors but I would be terrified of attempting HSC teaching. You really do have to know your stuff to do that properly.



Site Meter

 
Comments Off on Ancient history

Posted by on November 5, 2007 in Cultural and other, Education, Israel, Observations

 

Comments are closed.

 
