Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07

an archive

The Hicks affair

In keeping with my determination not to keep on posting the same thing over and over, I refer you to what I have already said on this blog and on on my Blogspot blog. But the five year imprisonment without trial of Australian citizen David Hicks by the US government has been in the news again here in Australia, first because former Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser has condemned it as a total failure of rule of law not only in the USA but also here (and keep in mind current PM John Howard was Fraser’s Treasurer), and now because the “director of military prosecutions to the new Australian Military Court has described the treatment of David Hicks as abominable.” See Top brass breaks ranks on Hicks for both.

Asked about the treatment of Mr Hicks, who has been held at Guantanamo Bay for more than five years and is not currently charged with any offences, she did not hesitate. “Abominable,” she said. “Quite frankly, I think it’s wrong. I don’t care what he’s done or alleged to have done. I think he’s entitled to a trial and a fair one and he is entitled to be charged and dealt with as quickly as is possible. As is anybody.”

As for the military tribunals the Americans have set up to deal with Mr Hicks, the Brigadier said: “Maybe they should have a good look at us.”

Her comments follow remarks by the former prime minister Malcolm Fraser yesterday that the Australian Government had “totally deserted” Mr Hicks.

Truly, we and the USA have behaved like banana republics in this case.

Baghdad Burning has a new post on the execution of Saddam Hussein. “Death and destruction everywhere. I’m so tired of all of this…” John Baker scores 10/10 for subtlety.

I for one cannot understand the current craze for Saddam snuff movies. It is sick, in my opinion. All we need to know is that he is dead.

Update

See Andrew Bartlett on Saddam executed. Pretty much my view also.

Site Meter

Written by Neil

January 2, 2007 at 9:45 am