Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07

an archive

At last: a right-wing blog that doesn’t make me want to curl up and die…

Most right-wing blogs I read are simply execrable, cheer-leading, in the main, for the pooling of bigotry and stereotypes, and for some of the more lamentably self-satisfied trends in society, a word many of them would reject. This is especially true of US right-wing blogs, but Australia has its share, some of them sadly only too popular — or should that be populist?

So with great pleasure I introduce (courtesy of WordPress and its what’s hot links) a European blog of considerable merit, which is not to say I endorse absolutely everything on it. It is, however, a blog to be savoured. Click to visit.

 

vandergalien

It isn’t just their good taste in templates either. 😉 Here are two entries that I have enjoyed so far:


Watching Alexander Downer’s bitchy performance on Lateline last night really did make me want to curl up and die… If ever someone deserves to go…

Site Meter

Written by Neil

August 15, 2007 at 8:46 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm…it isn’t exactly damning us with faint praise, but “At last: a right-wing blog that doesn’t make me want to curl up and die…” isn’t the sort of thing that makes it into the “Praise For This Blog” section either.

    🙂

    I’m sure if you give us a chance we can find lots of ways to annoy you…but in a good way.

    Rich Horton

    August 25, 2007 at 2:16 pm

  2. Thank you, Rich. It’s not that I have never read such blogs, you know. Yours has some wit to it, I see, but there was much I would be unlikely to agree with there too. It is partly a cultural void, wider than many suspect, between Australians and what we find on quite a few US sites. As my in many ways quite conservative friend Jim Belshaw says here, reflecting on some local and America matters, “I have not read Frank’s book nor do I fully understand all the complexities of the US experience, although I understand enough to know that there are profound cultural differences between the US and Australia despite the apparent similarities.” That is very true, one reason why US right-wing blogs often seem quite alien to me.

    ninglun

    August 25, 2007 at 2:43 pm

  3. Not sure about the conservative bit, Neil. In fact, not at all sure. I feel a post coming on!

    Jim Belshaw

    August 27, 2007 at 7:47 pm


Comments are closed.