Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07

an archive

Commencing teaching in 1906: family history page expanded

Thinking about The Rabbit commencing his teaching career, I could not help but reflect on my first appointment (Cronulla High) in 1966. I may tell you a little about that later, but I was also motivated by The Rabbit’s post to take up the family history again, adding some of the promised prequel. I have transcribed my mother’s memoir of her father’s first appointment, to a one-teacher school on the Hawkesbury in 1906. In fact the memoir goes back to 1902 when at the age of sixteen my grandfather began his training as a pupil teacher at Croydon Park, a Sydney suburb.

See My Mother’s Memories of Country Life Last Century.

Update

The page is now finished.


Site Meter

Written by Neil

January 15, 2007 at 10:24 pm